How long should the first release of a game be (how many renders)?

IamUnderman

May 11, 2020
Hello. I am working on a game right now that I intend to release either around Christmas or in the first quater of 2025. I am a total novice at game development and I am learning as I go, so I have something of a game-philosophy question for those with more experience than myself.

How long should a version 0.1 be ideally? Specifically a sandbox/vn game (think something in the style of Something Unlimited, Fashion Buisiness, etc). On the one hand I want to offer new players a meaty experience that will impress and intrigue by showing the game's potential. However I am well aware that I am currently the worst game developer I will ever be and that this update will be filled with flaws and jank. Getting feedback and releasing something sooner rather than later should also be a priority.

Now, there are lots of ways to count length (that's what she said!). Word count, number of choices, etc. I am currently deep into the rendering process of the game and so all my mental estimates are in render count.

I estimate that the first release will have around 350 or so renders. 140-150 will be in the form of an intro cutscene to introduce characters, backstory etc. 200+ will be the game's first playable chapter.

Currently I have made 60 renders that I am happy with, which would put me at around 1/6 of the way through the rendering process. For those wondering I am planning on around 5 "Sex scenes" in the update, although three of those will be quite brief.

So what do you think? Am I a million miles away from being realistic or am I on the right path? To give you a better idea of where I am right now, I have included 6 renders that I am happy with from the intro section. Thanks!

Zoe intro confrontation.png Catherine drops the bomb.png Layla rejection.png Yuki on Patrol sword jump.png Catherine bye.png Zoe intro swing 1.png

Last edited:

Count Morado

Conversation Conqueror